IT Security and Ethics: Related Topics

Presents an overview of the latest and greatest research in the field, touching on such topics as cryptology, stream ciphers, and intrusion detection, and providing new insights to an audience of students, teachers, and entry-level researchers working in computational intelligence, information security, and security engineering.

Brings together discussion on current approaches to cloud-based technologies and assesses the possibilities for future advancements in this field. Highlights the need for consumers to understand the unique nature of cloud-delivered security and to evaluate the different aspects of this service to verify if it will meet their needs.

Explores the latest innovations in promoting cloud security through human authentication techniques. Explores methods of access by identification, including the analysis of facial features, fingerprints, DNA, dental characteristics, and voice patterns.

Compiles the research and views of cloud computing from various individuals around the world. Detailing cloud security, regulatory and industry compliance, and trust building in the cloud, this book is an essential reference source for practitioners, professionals, and researchers worldwide.

Presents various digital crime and forensic disciplines that use electronic devices and software for crime prevention and detection. This book provides theoretical and empirical research articles and case studies for a broad range of academic readers as well as professionals, industry consultants, and practitioners involved in the use, design, and development of techniques related to digital forensics and investigation.

Presents a collection of research and case studies of applications for investigation processes in cloud computing environments. This reference source brings together the perspectives of cloud customers, security architects, and law enforcement agencies in the developing area of cloud forensics.

Addresses the use of electronic devices and software for crime prevention, investigation, and the application of a broad spectrum of sciences to answer questions of interest to the legal system. This book fosters a forum for advancing research and development of the theory and practice of digital crime prevention and forensics.

Aims to be the leading reference examining the psychology of cybercrime. This book considers many aspects of cybercrime, including research on offenders, legal issues, the impact of cybercrime on victims, punishment, and preventative measures.

Explores all aspects of computer-based crime and threats, offering solutions and best practices from experts in software development, information security, and law. As cyber crime continues to change and new types of threats emerge, research focuses on developing a critical understanding of different types of attacks and how they can best be managed and eliminated.

A unique and important contribution to the literature on cyber crime. It explores gendered dimensions of cyber crimes like adult bullying, cyber stalking, hacking, defamation, morphed pornographic images, and electronic blackmailing.

Provides theories, methods, and studies on digital crime prevention and investigation, which are useful to a broad range of researchers and communities. This field is under constant evolution as the nature of digital crime continues to change and new methods for tracking and preventing digital attacks are developed.

Provides broad coverage of technical and socio-economic perspectives for utilizing information and communication technologies and developing practical solutions in cyber security, cyber crime and cyber forensics.

Addresses various aspects of hacking and technology-driven crime, including the ability to understand computer-based threats, identify and examine attack dynamics, and find solutions. Including findings from experts in Criminal Justice, Business, and Information Technology Security from around the world, this book presents current research undertakings and findings in order to find interdisciplinary solutions to the complex domain of cyber crime and network breaches.

Addresses a broad range of electronic devices and software for crime prevention and investigation. This defining body of research covers a wide spectrum of topics useful to a broad cross-sectional and multi-disciplinary readership ranging from academic and professional research communities to industry consultants and practitioners.

Focuses on abusive and illegal practices of penetration in the sphere of private communications. A leading international reference source within the field, this book provides legal and political practitioners, academicians, and intrusion researchers with expert knowledge into global theft and spam perspectives, identity theft and fraud, and electronic crime issues.

Provides an in-depth treatment of advancements in the emerging field of multimedia forensics and security by tackling challenging issues such as digital watermarking for copyright protection, digital fingerprinting for transaction tracking, and digital camera source identification.

Discusses leading research on the use of computer simulation of crime patterns to reveal hidden processes of urban crimes, taking an interdisciplinary approach by combining criminology, computer simulation, and geographic information systems into one comprehensive resource.

depict the nature of the crime and the motives of the criminals before proceeding to analyze the type of attacks one must understand in order to be prepared. Covers incident preparedness and the tools that are available to the digital investigator, as well as issues that pertain to the education and skills that this new professional must be able to display.

Showcases a broad range of methods and techniques from typical GIS tasks such as geocoding and hotspot analysis to advanced technologies such as geographic profiling, agent-based modeling and web GIS.

Brings together the issues that managers, practitioners, and researchers must consider when planning, implementing, working within, and managing these promising virtual technologies for secure processes and initiatives. This publication discusses the uses and potential of these virtual technologies and examines secure policy formation and practices that can be applied specifically to each.

Discusses the security and optimization of computer networks for use in a variety of disciplines and fields. Touching on such matters as mobile and VPN security, IP spoofing, and intrusion detection, this edited collection emboldens the efforts of researchers, academics, and network administrators working in both the public and private sectors.

Presents the latest methodologies and trends in detecting and preventing network threats. Investigating the potential of current and emerging security technologies, this publication is an all-inclusive reference source for academicians, researchers, students, professionals, practitioners, network analysts, and technology specialists interested in the simulation and application of computer network protection.

Aims to connect the fields of C2 and network science. Featuring timely research on topics pertaining to the C2 network evolution, security, and modeling, this publication is ideal for reference use by students, academicians, and security professionals in the fields of C2 and network science.

Identifies the latest technological solutions, practices and principles on network security while exposing possible security threats and vulnerabilities of contemporary software, hardware, and networked systems.

Provides innovative ideas and methods on the development, operation, and maintenance of secure software systems and aims to highlight the construction of a functional software system and a secure system simultaneously.

Addresses real-world problems affecting the security of information communications in modern networks. Features chapters on topics including UMTS security, procedural and architectural solutions, common security issues, and modern cryptographic algorithms, among others.

Investigates advanced techniques in user identification and security, including retinal, facial, and finger print scans as well as signature and voice authentication models.

Explores important and emerging advancements in DIAM systems. The book helps researchers and practitioners in digital identity management to generate innovative answers to an assortment of problems.

Presents chapters on continuous authentication using biometrics that have been contributed by the leading experts in this recent, fast growing research area.

Identifies emergent research and techniques being utilized in the field of cryptology and cyber threat prevention. Featuring theoretical perspectives, best practices, and future research directions.

Considers an array of multidisciplinary applications and research developments in the field of cryptology and communication security. This publication offers a comprehensive, in-depth analysis of encryption solutions and will be of particular interest to IT professionals, cryptologists, and researchers in the field.

Provides relevant frameworks and best practices as well as current empirical research findings in the area. Aimed at professionals who want to improve their understanding of the impact of cyber-attacks on critical infrastructures and other information systems essential to the smooth running of society, how such attacks are carried out, what measures should be taken to mitigate their impact and what lessons can be learned from the attacks and simulations of the last few years.

Delves into the issues and challenges that public managers face in the adoption and implementation of information systems for homeland security. A defining collection of field advancements, this publication provides solutions for those interested in adopting additional information systems security measures in their governments.

Reviews related problems, issues, and presentations of the newest research in this field. Provides an overview with basic definitions of cyber terrorism and information warfare, along with recommendations on how to handle these attacks. It presents detailed discussion on primary target facilities, deliverables, external penetration, starting points for preparations against attacks, and planning security systems.

outlines many of the recent terrorist activities, political objectives, and their use of cyberspace. Illustrates the use of the global information infrastructure by terrorists for the communication and coordination of distributed terrorist cells, the gathering of target intelligence, and the use of cyber criminal activities as a force multiplier for both physical attacks and infrastructure destabilization.

Provides an overview of complex systems' techniques and presents both guidelines and specific instances of how they can be applied to security and defense applications. In today's uncertain times, these techniques can provide a breakthrough in the capability to model, plan and respond to critical events in modern society.

Presents IT managers with what cyber-terrorism and information warfare is and how to handle the problems associated with them. This book explains the roots of terrorism and how terrorism has planted the seeds of cyber-terrorism.

Discusses the challenges of providing security for online applications and transactions. Highlighting research on digital signatures, public key infrastructure, encryption algorithms, and digital certificates, as well as other e-commerce protocols.

Provides a theoretical and academic description of Cloud security issues, methods, tools and trends for developing secure software for Cloud services and applications. This book is a comprehensive collection including a wide range of existing problems and challenges that would be useful in both the academic and research world.

Provides a variety of theoretical perspectives on the topics of trust and technology, as well as some empirical investigations into the trust-building, trust-maintenance, and trust-destroying practices in the context of technology.

Examines how reliance is transferred from a social to a digital concept, enabling digital system users to build up confidence in their system. A defining body of sought after research, this innovative publication provides an understanding of the current challenges, solutions, and their limitations to those interested in this advancing field.

Combines perspectives of leading researchers in collaborative security to discuss recent advances in this burgeoning new field. Covering topics such as trust-based security, threat and risk analysis, and data sharing, this reference book provides a complete collection of the latest field developments.

Combines multiple perspectives on ethical backgrounds, theories, and management approaches when implementing new technologies into an environment. Understanding the ethical implications associated with utilizing new advancements in technology is useful for professionals, researchers, and graduate students interested in this growing area of research.

Provides extraordinary research which highlights the main contributions and characteristics of existing approaches, standards, best practices, and new trends in IT Security Governance.

Explores current advances in digital and mobile computing technologies from the user perspective, evaluating trust models and autonomic trust management.

Examines the current scope of theoretical and practical applications on the security of mobile and wireless communications. This book covers fundamental concepts of current issues, challenges, and solutions in wireless and mobile networks.

Provides empirical research on the engineering of social network infrastructures, the development of novel applications, and the impact of social network- based services over the internet. This comprehensive collection highlights issues and solutions developed to prevent security threats and introduce proper countermeasures for attacks on every level.

Presents a theoretical framework addressing how to enhance national response capabilities and ready the public in the presence of human-made or natural disasters. Explores fascinating topics including designing effective threat warning advisories, quantifying public reactions to and confidence in warning advisories, and assessing how anxiety and fear translate into impacts on effective response and social productivity.