Bioinformatics: Related Topics

Highlights the development of robust and effective vision-based motion understanding systems. This advanced publication addresses a broad audience including practicing professionals working with specific vision applications such as surveillance, sport event analysis, healthcare, video conferencing, and motion video indexing and retrieval.

Discusses classic behavioral biometrics as well as collects the latest advances in techniques, theoretical approaches, and dynamic applications. A critical mass of research, this innovative collection serves as an important reference tool for researchers, practitioners, academicians, and technologists.

Provides theoretical background to understand the overall configuration and challenging problem of automated face analysis systems, featuring a comprehensive review of recent research for the practical implementation of the analysis system.

Focuses on two kinds of advanced biometric recognition technologies, biometric data discrimination and multi-biometrics, while systematically introducing recent research in developing effective biometric recognition technologies.

Covers the theories which are the foundations of basic BID technologies, while developing new algorithms which are verified to be more effective in biometrics authentication. This book will assist students new to the field and will also be useful to senior researchers in this area.

Contains information regarding state-of-the-art research outcomes and cutting-edge technology from leading scientists and researchers working on various aspects of the human movement.

The single authoritative reference source for information on the newest trends and breakthroughs in computer applications applied to healthcare and biomedicine. Innovative technologies in health information systems, medicine, health services, and other areas in biomedicine are explored.

Offers the most cutting-edge research in the field, offering insights into case studies and methodologies from around the world. The text details the latest developments and will serve as a vital resource to practitioners and academics alike in the burgeoning field of medical applications of technologies.

Covers real-world applications, such as computational biology, text categorization, time series prediction, interpolation, system identification, speech recognition, image de-noising, image coding, classification, and segmentation.

Investigates the latest developments in nature-influenced technologies. Within its pages, readers will find an in-depth analysis of such advances as cryptographic solutions based on cell division, the creation and manipulation of biological computers, and particle swarm optimization techniques.

Covers all the main areas of natural computing, from methods to computationally synthesized natural phenomena, to computing paradigms based on natural materials. This volume is comprised of ideas and research from nature to develop computational systems or materials to perform computation.

Offers current perspectives and trends in biologically-inspired networking, exploring various approaches aimed at improving network paradigms. Introduces studies in the fields of communication networks, performance modeling, and distributed computing, as well as new advances in networking.

Summarizes some of the most recent research carried out in computational biology and systems biology to encourage and guide future study. Submissions to this comprehensive text present methods, tools, and applications developed and considered by many leading experts around the globe.

Aims to bridge that gap in the belief that compact organization and arrangement of the circuit and system design will be a major factor in attaining the pursued benefits of biological systems. Includes research from abstract fields such as psychology to more concrete topics including circuit design.

Presents recent advances in the study of certain biological processes related to information processing that are applied to artificial intelligence. Describes the benefits of recently discovered and existing techniques to adaptive artificial intelligence and biology.

Covers the most relevant areas in computational intelligence, including evolutionary algorithms, artificial neural networks, artificial immune systems and swarm systems. It also brings together novel and philosophical trends in the exciting fields of artificial life and robotics.

Provides an overview of current research in machine learning and applications to chemoinformatics tasks. As a timely compendium of research, this book offers perspectives on key elements that are crucial for complex study and investigation.

Presents an up-to-date account of research done in the areas of lip segmentation, visual speech recognition, and speaker identification and verification.

Compiles research in areas where nanoscience and computer science meet. This book explores current and future trends that discus areas such as, cellular nanocomputers, DNA self-assembly, and the architectural design of a “nano-brain.”