LibGuides: Social Computing: Related Topics

E-Collaboration

Interdisciplinary Applications of Electronic Collaboration Approaches and Technologies
ISBN: 9781466620209
Publication Date: 8/31/2012
Addresses the design and implementation of e-collaboration technologies, assesses its behavioral impact on individuals and groups, and presents theoretical considerations on links between the use of e-collaboration technologies and behavioral patterns.
Approaches for Community Decision Making and Collective Reasoning: Knowledge Technology Support
ISBN: 9781466618183
Publication Date: 6/30/2012
Acts to provide knowledge for each individual in a group with the broad structural wealth of reasoning. It also acts as an explicit structure that technological devices for supporting reasoning within a group can hook onto.
Collaborative and Distributed E-Research: Innovations in Technologies, Strategies and Applications
ISBN: 9781466601253
Publication Date: 2/29/2012
Offers insight into practical and methodological issues related to collaborative e-research and furthers our understanding of current and future trends in online research and the types of technologies involved.
Advancing Collaborative Knowledge Environments: New Trends in E-Collaboration
ISBN: 9781613504598
Publication Date: 12/31/2011
Discusses the latest findings in knowledge-intensive, collaborative environments, focusing on frameworks and solutions for improving collaboration online. Uniting research on the effectiveness of instant messaging, the role of presence and awareness in real-time collaboration, and other key concepts.
E-Collaboration Technologies and Organizational Performance: Current and Future Trends
ISBN: 9781609604660
Publication Date: 12/31/2010
Reviews recent advances in the e-collaboration discipline with a focus on virtual teams, firm performance, social capital formation, and Web-based communities. This inclusive reference provides solutions, suggestions, and best practices for organizational and individual collaboration.
Technologies for Supporting Reasoning Communities and Collaborative Decision Making: Cooperative Approaches
ISBN: 9781609600914
Publication Date: 10/31/2010
Includes chapters from diverse fields of enquiry including decision science, political science, argumentation, knowledge management, cognitive psychology and business intelligence. Each chapter illustrates a perspective on group reasoning that ultimately aims to lead to a greater understanding of reasoning communities and inform technological developments.
Techniques for Fostering Collaboration in Online Learning Communities: Theoretical and Practical Perspectives
ISBN: 9781616928988
Publication Date: 9/30/2010
Provides a focused assessment of the peculiarities of online collaborative learning processes by looking at the strategies, methods, and techniques used to support and enhance debate and exchange among peers. Offering an extensive discussion of the design, management, monitoring, and evaluation of learning processes.
Collaborative Search and Communities of Interest: Trends in Knowledge Sharing and Assessment
ISBN: 9781615208418
Publication Date: 7/31/2010
Provides a comprehensive collection of knowledge from experts within the Information and Knowledge Management field. Outlining various concepts from an application and technical stand point and providing insight on the various dimensions (sociological, psychological, technical, etc.) of social Internet collaboration.
Virtual Collaborative Writing in the Workplace: Computer-Mediated Communication Technologies and Processes
ISBN: 9781605669946
Publication Date: 6/30/2010
Investigates the use of computer-mediated communication technologies, including everything from instant messaging and e-mail to interaction on Web pages, Webcasts, and graphical user interfaces, to facilitate effective interdependent collaboration in writing projects.
Interdisciplinary Perspectives on E-Collaboration: Emerging Trends and Applications
ISBN: 9781615206766
Publication Date: 2/28/2010
Focuses on e-collaboration technologies that enable group-based interaction, and the impact that those technologies have on group work. A defining body of research, this reference addresses a range of e-collaboration topics including interdisciplinary perspectives on e-collaboration, and adaptation and creativity in e-collaboration.
E-Collaborative Knowledge Construction: Learning from Computer-Supported and Virtual Environments
ISBN: 9781615207299
Publication Date: 1/31/2010
Explores the construction of beneficial e-collaborative knowledge environments from four vital perspectives: educational, psychological, organizational, and technical.
Collaborative Technologies and Applications for Interactive Information Design: Emerging Trends in User Experiences
ISBN: 9781605667270
Publication Date: 8/31/2009
Covers a wide range of emerging topics in collaboration, Web 2.0, and social computing, with a focus on technologies that impact the user experience. Provides the latest international findings useful to practitioners, researchers, and academicians involved in education, ontologies, open source communities, and trusted networks.
Monitoring and Assessment in Online Collaborative Environments: Emergent Computational Technologies for E-Learning Support
ISBN: 9781605667867
Publication Date: 8/31/2009
Focuses on new models and systems that perform efficient evaluation of student activity in Internet-based education. Containing research from leading international experts, this Premier Reference Source introduces original case studies and experiences of educators worldwide regarding e-learning activities.
Handbook of Research on Social Interaction Technologies and Collaboration Software: Concepts and Trends
ISBN: 9781605663685
Publication Date: 7/31/2009
Focuses on the latest explosion of Internet-based collaboration tools and platforms reaching end-users; it explores their origins, structures, purposes, and functions; and it muses over how SIT can expand human abilities and powers.
E-Collaboration: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications
ISBN: 9781605666525
Publication Date: 5/31/2009
Addresses a range of e-collaboration topics through advanced research chapters authored by an international partnership of field experts. Covers the latest findings, concepts, and technological advancements.
Collaborative and Social Information Retrieval and Access: Techniques for Improved User Modeling
ISBN: 9781605663067
Publication Date: 4/30/2009
Presents current state-of-the-art developments including case studies, challenges, and trends. Covering topics such as recommender systems, user profiles, and collaborative filtering, this book informs and educates academicians, researchers, and field practitioners on the latest advancements in information retrieval.
Handbook of Research on Electronic Collaboration and Organizational Synergy
ISBN: 9781605661063
Publication Date: 11/30/2008
Offers exhaustive research on collaborations in education, business, and the government and social sectors. Identifies areas where previous theories, literature, research methods, and approaches need to be updated to acknowledge the changes now emerging in a digitally connected global economy and society.
Encyclopedia of E-Collaboration
ISBN: 9781599040004
Publication Date: 12/31/2007
Includes 109 authoritative contributions on information on the design and implementation of e-collaboration technologies, the behavioral impacts of e-collaboration technologies on individuals and groups, and theoretical considerations on links between the use of e-collaboration technology and behavioral patterns.
E-Collaboration in Modern Organizations: Initiating and Managing Distributed Projects
ISBN: 9781599048253
Publication Date: 11/30/2007
Describes conceptual and theoretical issues that have implications for distributed project management, implications surrounding the use of e-collaborative environments for distributed projects, and emerging issues and debate related directly and indirectly to e-collaboration support for distributed project management.
E-Collaborations and Virtual Organizations
ISBN: 9781591402855
Publication Date: 7/1/2003
Covers a broad range of topics, from underlying technological structures to fundamental mechanisms, that are relevant to e-Collaboration and virtual organizations. Presents some of the current work in the field and represents a resource upon which knowledge, lessons, and views can be drawn upon for consideration and applications in the virtual world.
Collaborative Information Technologies
ISBN: 9781931777148
Publication Date: 7/1/2001
Includes research on the design and implementation of such technologies, assessment of the impact of collaborative technologies on organizations, and theoretical considerations on links between collaborative technologies and organizational outcomes.

Entrepreneurship & Innovation

Social E-Enterprise: Value Creation through ICT
ISBN: 9781466626676
Publication Date: 12/31/2012
Provides research on the understanding of ICT in the social enterprise field as it emerges as a major component of both business model and developed economy. This reference source focuses on the role of information communication technology as it promotes the development of the social sector.

Human Aspects of Business

Intercultural Rhetoric and Professional Communication: Technological Advances and Organizational Behavior
ISBN: 9781613504505
Publication Date: 12/31/2011
Explores the theory and practice of rhetoric and professional communication in intercultural contexts. This book provides a framework for translating, localizing, and internationalizing communications and information products around the world.
Working Virtually: Challenges of Virtual Teams
ISBN: 9781591405856
Publication Date: 4/30/2005
Provides an in-depth, practical perspective on the growing dependence of virtual teams and how to best exploit them. Based on years of direct experience in managing and participating in virtual teams, as well as developing solutions to help virtual teams be more effective, the authors have provided unique insight that can be leveraged to help you get the most of your virtual teams.
Internet-Based Workplace Communications: Industry and Academic Applications
ISBN: 9781591405214
Publication Date: 10/31/2004
Examines the different ways in which online media are becoming a part of and affecting educational and professional writing practices. By overviewing how Internet-based technologies affect the communication process, this timely book provides educators with a synopsis of the tools and techniques that could be applied to a variety of educational and professional activities.

Interactive Technologies

Social Interactive Television: Immersive Shared Experiences and Perspectives
ISBN: 9781605666563
Publication Date: 5/31/2009
Combines academic and industry research to provide the first publication of its kind to discuss the future emergence of experiences and services through interactive television. Concentrating on system and interaction design, as well as evaluation methods that focus on social experiences around interactive television.

Semantic Web

Collaboration and the Semantic Web: Social Networks, Knowledge Networks, and Knowledge Resources
ISBN: 9781466608948
Publication Date: 4/30/2012
Showcases cutting-edge research on the intersections of Semantic Web, collaborative work, and social media research, exploring how the resources of so-called social networking applications, which bring people together to interact and encourage sharing of personal information and ideas, can be tapped by Semantic Web techniques.
Semantic Web Personalization and Context Awareness: Management of Personal Identities and Social Networking
ISBN: 9781615209217
Publication Date: 4/30/2011
Reviews knowledge engineering for organizational applications, and Semantic Web approaches to information systems and ontology-based information systems research, as well as the diverse underlying database and knowledge representation aspects that impact personalization and customization.
Social Web Evolution: Integrating Semantic Applications and Web 2.0 Technologies
ISBN: 9781605662725
Publication Date: 3/31/2009
Explores the potential of Web 2.0 and its synergies with the Semantic Web and provides state-of-the-art theoretical foundations and technological applications. Emphasizes practical aspects of the integration of semantic applications into social Web technologies.

Computer Graphics & Art

New Opportunities for Artistic Practice in Virtual Worlds
ISBN: 9781466683846
Publication Date: 6/26/2015
Provides a coherent account of artistic practices in virtual worlds and considers the contribution the Second Life platform has made in a historical, theoretical, and critical context within the fields of art and technology.

Computer-Mediated-Communication

Networked Sociability and Individualism: Technology for Personal and Professional Relationships
ISBN: 9781613503386
Publication Date: 11/30/2011
Provides a multidisciplinary framework for analyzing the new forms of sociability enabled by digital media and networks. This book focuses on a variety of social media and computer-mediated communication environments with the aim of identifying and understanding different types of social behavior and identity expression.
Mass Customization for Personalized Communication Environments: Integrating Human Factors
ISBN: 9781605662602
Publication Date: 10/31/2009
Focuses on the customization of services and communication environments to advance user satisfaction and provide a total redefinition of the way goods and services are created or sold and customers and vendors interact.
Handbook of Research on Computer Mediated Communication
ISBN: 9781599048635
Publication Date: 5/31/2008
Provides academics and practitioners with an authoritative collection of research on the implications and social effects computers have had on communication.
Computer-Mediated Relationships and Trust: Managerial and Organizational Effects
ISBN: 9781599044958
Publication Date: 8/31/2007
Provides an exhaustive collection of leading research on trust within the context of computer-mediated relationships through review of the existent work on trust from multiple scholarly disciplines, and introduces trust in a third dimension.

Cyber Behavior

Adolescent Online Social Communication and Behavior: Relationship Formation on the Internet
ISBN: 9781605669267
Publication Date: 11/30/2009
Identifies the role and function of shared contact behavior of youth on the Web. With expert international contributions, this publication provides a deep understanding on various issues of adolescent Internet use with an emphasis on diverse aspects of social and cognitive development, communication characteristics, and modes of communication.
Linguistic and Cultural Online Communication Issues in the Global Age
ISBN: 9781599042138
Publication Date: 3/31/2007
Provides readers with in-depth information on the various linguistic, cultural, technological, legal, and other factors that affect interactions in online exchanges within the global age. Proposes information that implements effective decisions related to the uses and designs of online media when interacting with individuals from other cultures.

Digital Divide & Developing Countries

Cases on Web 2.0 in Developing Countries: Studies on Implementation, Application, and Use
ISBN: 9781466625150
Publication Date: 11/30/2012
Investigates the perception of the value of Web 2.0, the adoption and application of its technologies, as well as the different approaches and innovations necessary for the implementation of Web applications in developing countries.

Data Mining

Social Network Mining, Analysis, and Research Trends: Techniques and Applications
ISBN: 9781613505137
Publication Date: 12/31/2011
Covers current research trends in the area of social networks analysis and mining. Proposes new measures, methods, and techniques in social networks analysis and also presents applications and case studies in this changing field.

End User Computing

User Interface Design for Virtual Environments: Challenges and Advances
ISBN: 9781613505168
Publication Date: 12/31/2011
Focuses on challenges that designers face in creating interfaces for users of various virtual environments. Chapters included in this book address various critical issues that have implications for user interface design from a number of different viewpoints.
Computational Advancements in End-User Technologies: Emerging Models and Frameworks
ISBN: 9781605666877
Publication Date: 10/31/2009
Contains leading research and practices into the advancement, significance, and comprehensive nature of end-user computing. A defining collection of significant tools, applications, and methodologies within this expanding field of study.
End-User Computing: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications
ISBN: 9781599049458
Publication Date: 2/28/2008
Compiles a vast collection of the most authoritative research in the development of computing applications and models by personnel other than IT departments and commercial vendors.
Contemporary Issues in End User Computing
ISBN: 9781591409267
Publication Date: 7/31/2006
Covers Web-based end user computing tools and technologies, end user computing software and trends, and end user characteristics and learning. This scholarly book features the latest research findings dealing with end user computing concepts, issues, and trends.
Advanced Topics in End User Computing, Volume 4
ISBN: 9781591404743
Publication Date: 3/31/2005
Covers such important topics as: organizational and end user computing issues, trends, and successes, collaborative technologies and implementation issues, and e-commerce processes and practices. This scholarly book is a collection which brings a wealth of end user computing information to one accessible location.
Advanced Topics in End User Computing, Volume 3
ISBN: 9781591402572
Publication Date: 7/1/2003
Interested in those studies that show a significant contribution by relating end user computing to end user satisfaction, end user productivity, and strategic and competitive advantage.
Advanced Topics in End User Computing, Volume 2
ISBN: 9781591400653
Publication Date: 7/1/2002
Interested in those studies that show a significant contribution by relating end user computing to end user satisfaction, end user productivity, and strategic and competitive advantage.
Advanced Topics in End User Computing, Volume 1
ISBN: 9781930708426
Publication Date: 7/1/2001
Features the latest research findings dealing with end user computing concepts, issues, and trends. Empirical and theoretical research concerned with all aspects of end user computing including development, utilization and management are included.

Gender & Technology

Gender and Social Computing: Interactions, Differences and Relationships
ISBN: 9781609607593
Publication Date: 7/31/2011
Provides an overview of the major questions that researchers and practitioners are addressing, outlining possible future directions for theory development and empirical research on gender and computing. This comprehensive reference focuses on three areas of research on gender and computing: gender and computing in the work arena, gender and computing in cyberspace, and gender in eDating.

Human Aspects of Technology

Intercultural Rhetoric and Professional Communication: Technological Advances and Organizational Behavior
ISBN: 9781613504505
Publication Date: 12/31/2011
Explores the theory and practice of rhetoric and professional communication in intercultural contexts. This book provides a framework for translating, localizing, and internationalizing communications and information products around the world.
Working Virtually: Challenges of Virtual Teams
ISBN: 9781591405856
Publication Date: 4/30/2005
Provides an in-depth, practical perspective on the growing dependence of virtual teams and how to best exploit them. Based on years of direct experience in managing and participating in virtual teams, as well as developing solutions to help virtual teams be more effective, the authors have provided unique insight that can be leveraged to help you get the most of your virtual teams.
Internet-Based Workplace Communications: Industry and Academic Applications
ISBN: 9781591405214
Publication Date: 10/31/2004
Examines the different ways in which online media are becoming a part of and affecting educational and professional writing practices.

Knowledge Society

Knowledge and Technological Development Effects on Organizational and Social Structures
ISBN: 9781466621510
Publication Date: 10/31/2012
Provides a wide ranging discussion on the exchanging of research ideas and practices in an effort to bring together the social and technical aspects within organizations and society. This collection focuses on new ideas and studies for research, students, and practitioners.
Building the Knowledge Society on the Internet: Sharing and Exchanging Knowledge in Networked Environments
ISBN: 9781599048161
Publication Date: 6/30/2008
Proposes a vast panorama of research on the topic while presenting a variety of viewpoints, approaches, and indications of the shared elements intended as the foundations of an emerging and fascinating multidisciplinary field.

Ubiquitous & Pervasive Computing

Creating Personal, Social, and Urban Awareness through Pervasive Computing
ISBN: 9781466646957
Publication Date: 10/31/2013
Provides an overview of the theories, techniques, and practical applications related to the three dimensions of context awareness. Through the exploration of emerging research trends of pervasive computing, this book is beneficial to professors, students, researchers, and developers interested this latest development in the field of context-awareness and pervasive computing.
Risk Assessment and Management in Pervasive Computing: Operational, Legal, Ethical, and Financial Perspectives
ISBN: 9781605662206
Publication Date: 10/31/2008
Examines the implications of pervasive computing from varying crucial perspectives so that current and future e-business managers can make responsible decisions about where, when, and how to use this technology.
Ubiquitous and Pervasive Knowledge and Learning Management: Semantics, Social Networking and New Media to Their Full Potential
ISBN: 9781599044835
Publication Date: 2/28/2007
Presents an alternative view to ubiquitous and pervasive knowledge, architectural frameworks, and methodological issues, and introduces some of the major techniques and tools developed in the domain of ontology building, analysis, and semantic Web.

Social Computing: Related Topics

Description

E-Collaboration

Entrepreneurship & Innovation

Human Aspects of Business

Interactive Technologies

Semantic Web

Computer Graphics & Art

Computer-Mediated-Communication

Cyber Behavior

Digital Divide & Developing Countries

Data Mining

End User Computing

Gender & Technology

Human Aspects of Technology

Knowledge Society

Ubiquitous & Pervasive Computing