Health Information Systems - Strayer University: e-Books

Explores the latest advancements in telemedicine and various medical technologies transforming the healthcare sector. Emphasizing current trends and future opportunities for IT integration in medicine.

An authoritative reference source for the latest scholarly research on the integration of ICT within the health services sector. Featuring comprehensive coverage on a range of topics from technical and non-technical perspectives.

Responds to the issue of administering appropriate regulations in a medical laboratory environment in the era of telemedicine, electronic health records, and other e-health services. Exploring concepts such as the implementation of ISO 15189:2012 policies and the effects of e-health application.

Highlights current research and trends from both professionals and researchers on health informatics as applied to the needs of patient safety and quality care. Brings together theory and practical approaches for patient needs.

A comprehensive collection of relevant research on technology and its developments of ICTs in healthcare and social services. Focuses on the emerging trends in the social and healthcare sectors such as social networks, security of ICTs, and advisory services.

Provides the latest and most relevant research on the understanding, expansion, and solutions on technologies used for improvements in the health and social care field. This book is useful for academics, industry leaders, and professionals interested in the latest advancements in technology and its impact on health care.

Provides a global discussion on the practice of user-driven learning in healthcare and connected disciplines and its influence on learning through clinical problem solving. This book brings together different perspectives for researchers and practitioners to develop a comprehensive framework of user-driven healthcare.

presents research in the emerging field on information systems and informatics in the healthcare industry. Addresses innovative concepts and critical issues through case studies and experimental research.

Highlights the importance of understanding the potential challenges and lessons learned from past technology implementations. Aims to help improve the understanding of the process as well as challenges faced and lessons learned through implementation of health information technologies.

Addresses innovative concepts and critical issues in the emerging field of health information systems and informatics, with an emphasis on sustainable computer information systems, ensuring healthcare efficiency, and denoising MRI and ECG outputs.

A fundamental source for the advancement of knowledge, application, and practice in the interdisciplinary areas of healthcare, e-health, m-health, u-health, sensors, biomedical engineering, and telemedicine.

Offers a framework for measuring quality of service in the healthcare industry as it pertains to nursing, with insight into how new technologies and the design of personalized medicine have improved quality of care and quality of life. Details case studies and the latest research in the field of healthcare service delivery assessment.

Unites researchers and industry practitioners from different disciplines to share their domain-specific knowledge and thereby contribute to a holistic introduction into the area of human-centered design for e-health applications.

Contains cross-disciplinary research on strategic initiatives for healthcare reform that impact not only patients, but also organizations, healthcare providers, and policymakers. Contributions focus on the operational as well as theoretical aspects of healthcare management, healthcare delivery processes, and patient-centered initiatives.

Addresses the reason, principles and functionality of health and health care systems and presents a novel framework for revealing, understanding and implementing appropriate management interventions leading to qualitative improvement. It also provides evidence on the quality and reliability of telemedicine and reviews standards and guidelines for practicing medicine at a distance.

Intended to assist researchers, practitioners, and the users of assistive technology to augment the accessibility of assistive technology by implementing human cognition into its design and practice. Consequently, this book presents assistive technology as an intervention for people with disabilities from a transdisciplinary perspective.

Provides insight from members of prestigious universities and research institutes around the world into possible solutions for the aforementioned pressures within today's healthcare systems.

Brings to the healthcare community a comprehensive resource elucidating the adoption and usage of health informatics. Provides a global understanding of the advances in health informatics and electronic applications in healthcare delivery and management.

Provides new research, practical experiences, challenges, and opportunities within healthcare data management. Presents tools and techniques in all aspects of IT management and clinical data administration in healthcare.

Provides international research discussing the use, adoption, design, and diffusion of information communication technologies (ICTs) in healthcare, including the role of ICTs in the future of healthcare delivery; access, quality, and value of healthcare; nature and evaluation of medical technologies; ethics and social implications; and medical information management.

Offers an evidence-based management approach to issues associated with the human and social aspects of designing, developing, implementing, and maintaining health information systems across a healthcare organization—specific to an individual, team, organizational, system, and international perspective.

Addresses the difficult task of managing admissions and waiting lists while ensuring a quick and convincing response to unanticipated changes of the clinical needs.Tackles the limitations of traditional systems, and takes into consideration the dynamic nature of clinical needs, scarce resources, alternative strategies, and customer satisfaction in an environment that often imposes unexpected deviation from planned activities.

Brings together high quality concepts closely related to how knowledge management can be utilized in healthcare. It includes the methodologies, systems, and approaches needed to create and manage knowledge in various types of healthcare organizations.

An innovative new book that strives to show the positive impact that Knowledge Media and communication technology can have on human communication within the field of healthcare.

Presents studies from leading researchers and practitioners focusing on the current challenges, directions, trends and opportunities associated with healthcare organizations and their strategic use of Web-enabled technologies.

Explores recent advances in mobile medicine and how this technology impacts modern medical care. Features comprehensive chapters on all aspects of e-health and telemedicine, including implementation strategies; use cases in cardiology, infectious diseases, and cytology, among others; care of individuals with autism spectrum disorders; and medical image analysis.

Introduces the latest research concerning the innovative implementation of information technology and data analysis in the healthcare field. Highlighting current concerns and recent advances in patient care and healthcare delivery.

Presents a collection of real-life examples, frameworks, business models, financial implications, and methods of evaluating the technological tools that are enabling a more human-centered approach to health and social care.

Provides a comprehensive collection on the overview of electronic health records and health services interoperability and the different aspects representing its outlook in a framework that is useful for practitioners, researchers, and decision-makers.

Brings together a valuable research collection on ICT elements needed to improve communication and collaboration between global health institutes, public and private organizations, and foundations. Highlighting the adoption and success factors in the development of technologies for healthcare.

Focuses on and describes different networks that link hospitals and their services to patients outside their territory. This reference work not only focuses on the technology that is integral to the function of a telehealth network, but also its users, and the collaboration that is necessary to be successful.

Explores the developments and trends in medical informatics and its approaches toward telemedicine and e-health applications. This comprehensive collection of research brings together academia and industry by highlighting recent advances in electronic health, medical communications and applications for e-health and medicine.

Presents an overview on information and communication technologies and addresses the impacts on the field of both patient safety and e-health. This book offers insightful perspectives and concentrated research on concepts related to these areas, as well as issues and current trends in patient safety in e-health.

Provides comprehensive coverage and understanding of clinical problem solving in healthcare. Aims at improved healthcare through clinical problem solving utilizing concerted experiential learning in conversations between multiple users and stakeholders, primarily patients, health professionals, and other actors in a care giving collaborative network across a web interface.

Offers a comprehensive and integrated approach to telemedicine by collecting e-health experiences and applications from around the world and by exploring developments and trends in medical informatics.

Explores the developments and challenges associated with the successful deployment of e-healthcare systems. Combines research efforts in different disciplines including pervasive wireless communications, wearable computing, context-awareness, sensor data fusion, artificial intelligence, neural networks, expert systems, databases, and security.

Illustrates the power of management engineering for quantitative managerial decision-making in healthcare settings. This understanding makes it possible, in turn, to predict performance and/or real resource requirements, allowing decision-makers to be truly proactive rather than reactive.

Provides an in-depth introduction into medical, social, psychological, and technical aspects of smart healthcare applications as well as their consequences for the design, use and acceptance of future systems.

Explores various individual user driven strategies that move towards solving multiple clinical system problems in healthcare, utilizing real life examples. Documenting individual concrete experiences, reflective observations, abstract conceptualizations and particular instances of active experimentation.

Presents the latest research in healthcare information systems design, development, and deployment, benefiting researchers, practitioners, and students. Contributions investigate topics such as clinical education, electronic medical records, clinical decision support systems, and IT adoption in healthcare.

Bridges the gap between today's empirical research findings and healthcare practice. Provides information on current technological integrations, potential uses for technology in healthcare, and the implications—both positive and negative—of health informatics for one's health.

Provides researchers, administrators, and medical practitioners and academicians with a complete understanding of the development of applications and concepts in clinical, patient, and hospital information systems.

Collects a compilation of chapters on how knowledge impacts the layout and design of the medical industry. A cutting-edge reference source within the field, this book provides comprehensive frameworks, constraints, and performances analyzed by experts within the healthcare sector.

Presents the perspective of a distinct form of e-health that is patient-focused, patient-aware, patient-empowered, and patient-active. Addresses the special characteristics of the e-health domain through a user-centered design, providing foundational topics in areas such as patient-centered design methods, psychological aspects of online health communication, and e-health marketing.

Addresses organizational issues, including technology adoption, diffusion, and acceptance, as well as cost benefits and cost effectiveness, of advancing health information systems and informatics applications as innovative forms of investment in healthcare.

Provides insight on the challenges arising from the adaptation of information systems to the healthcare industry, including development, design, usage, adoption, expansion, and compliance with industry regulations. Highlights the role of healthcare information systems in fighting healthcare fraud and the role of information technology and vendors.

Combines various approaches to understand the diffusion and use of IS in health care, combining quantitative and qualitative approaches offering “the best of both worlds”. Serves as a guide to better innovation through information technology, bringing a leap forward in formal evaluation of information systems in health care.

Puts a special emphasis on issues dealing with the most recent innovations such as telemedicine, Web-based medical information and consulting systems, expert systems and artificial intelligence.

Medical information systems drive and impact many aspects of the healthcare system, including structure, economics and performance. This book reports on the implementation of these systems, looking at both the success stories as well as the reasons for failure in the design, development and implementation of these systems.