Nelson Mandela University: InfoSci-Education

ISSN: 1947-8607
Published Quarterly. Est. 2010.
The International Journal of Adult Vocational Education and Technology (IJAVET) provides a global look at educational technologies for adult learners with content drawing from theory, research, practice, individual experience, and insight by leading scholars, theorists, and practitioners worldwide. IJAVET provides educators, researchers, practitioners, and graduate students with insight into all areas affecting teaching, learning, research, and practice, sharing innovative pedagogies and inspirational insights into career and technical education (CTE), adult education, and technology.

ISSN: 2155-6849
Published Quarterly. Est. 2011.
The International Journal of Game-Based Learning (IJGBL) is devoted to the theoretical and empirical understanding of game-based learning. To achieve this aim, the journal publishes theoretical manuscripts, empirical studies, and literature reviews. The journal publishes this multidisciplinary research from fields that explore the cognitive and psychological aspects that underpin successful educational video games. The target audience of the journal is composed of professionals and researchers working in the fields of educational games development, e-learning, technology-enhanced education, multimedia, educational psychology, and information technology. IJGBL promotes an in-depth understanding of the multiple factors and challenges inherent to the design and integration of Game-Based Learning environments.

ISSN: 1941-8647
Published Quarterly. Est. 2009.
The International Journal of Mobile and Blended Learning (IJMBL) provides a forum for researchers in this field to share their knowledge and experience of combining e-learning and m-learning with other educational resources. Providing researchers, practitioners, and academicians with insight into a wide range of topics such as knowledge sharing, mobile games for learning, collaborative learning, and e-learning, this journal contains useful articles for those seeking to learn, analyze, improve, and apply technologies in mobile and blended learning. The journal spans theoretical, technical, and pedagogical issues in mobile and blended learning. These embrace comprehensive or critical reviews of the current literature, relevant technologies and applications, and important contextual issues such as privacy, security, adaptivity, and resource constraints.

ISSN: 2155-7098
Published Quarterly. Est. 2011.
The International Journal of Computer-Assisted Language Learning and Teaching (IJCALLT) serves as a forum for researchers, teachers, practitioners, and education professionals to discuss and share their ideas, experience, and knowledge in combining computer technology with language teaching and learning. Due to the fast pace of technological change, innovative teaching approaches and strategies should be developed to successfully integrate new technologies into language teaching. This journal provides opportunities to evaluate, improve, and apply such strategies in the fields of CALL and foreign/second language learning.

ISSN: 2476-0005
Published Semi-Annually. Est. 2017.
The International Journal of Ethics in Digital Research and Scholarship (IJEDRS) provides state-of-the-art research on the impact, application, theoretical issues and implications related to the ethics of using digital technologies in various fields. These fields include but are not limited to education, industry, government, and health care. Of particular interest are topics related to computer psychology, online behavior, and issues of privacy, security, surveillance, and confidentiality. As a semi-annual journal, IJEDRS publishes empirical research, theoretical studies, case studies, and book reviews that focus on ethics and the integrity of computer use in education, industry, medicine, government, and in the global business community.

ISSN: 1539-3100
Published Quarterly. Est. 2003.
The International Journal of Distance Education Technologies (IJDET) is a forum for researchers and practitioners to disseminate practical solutions to the automation of open and distance learning. Targeted to academic researchers and engineers who work with distance learning programs and software systems, as well as general users of distance education technologies and methods, IJDET discusses computational methods, algorithms, implemented prototype systems, and applications of open and distance learning. All manuscripts submitted to the journal are peer-reviewed according to the procedure consisting of initial review, peer review, and recommendation.

ISSN: 1550-1876
Published Quarterly. Est. 2005.
Ask any teacher at any level of education – technology engages learners and animates their imagination. Technology stimulates minds in ways that make a profound and lasting difference. Indeed, technology, for many, is the most important new teaching strategy and learning style introduced in the past 50 years. Yet, the discipline is woefully lax in quantifiable and qualitative validation of successful learning outcomes. Learners with basic skills in reading, writing, and arithmetic master those skills better and faster with technology; yet the research is not there to defend how much better or how much faster these skills are acquired. Technology offers educators a way to adapt instruction to the needs of more diverse learners; still, such successes are not generalized across populations or content areas. Learners use technology to acquire and organize information evidence to obtain a higher level of comprehension; but we are not sure why. The purpose of the International Journal of Information and Communication Technology Education (IJICTE) is to grow this body of research, propose new applications of technology for teaching and learning, and document those practices that contribute irrefutable verification of information technology education as a discipline.

ISSN: 2379-7363
Published Semi-Annually. Est. 2016.
The International Journal of Bias, Identity and Diversities in Education (IJBIDE) investigates critically the positioning of diverse individuals in formal and informal contexts of education – from kindergarten to adult education, but also lifelong learning. Diversities here refer to different identity markers such as ethnicity, religion, gender, social class, disabilities and language. IJBIDE is clearly positioned within a non-essentialist, non-culturalist perspective. IJBIDE also aims to promote original research methods by linking up macro- and micro-approaches. The journal is fully blind peer reviewed by the best experts in the field and publishes empirical and conceptual research and case studies from around the world.

ISSN: 2155-6873
Published Quarterly. Est. 2011.
The International Journal of Online Pedagogy and Course Design (IJOPCD) serves as a forum for the improvement of online education for schools and teachers planning to implement, or currently engaged in, e-learning. Focusing on online schooling and curriculum preparation, this journal provides effective Web-based teaching methods for teachers and educators. IJOPCD presents critical viewpoints for academic professionals in the development of online learning.

ISSN: 2574-8254
Published Quarterly. Est. 2018.
The International Journal of Smart Education and Urban Society (IJSEUS) presents a platform to discuss ideas, problems, challenges, and solutions for changes in society brought about by technological innovations. Urban society requires smart, innovative, collaborative learning infrastructures that cultivate a learning culture in the context of 21st century education; where learning goes beyond the space and time context and becomes available everywhere by using different smart educational technologies. This brings advantages and challenges for educators at all levels in promoting the knowledge, skills, competencies, and talents of inhabitants; which should be a key strategic objective in modern cities. This new phenomenon brings educational science in at a new level because there is a need for a new generation of people who can construct their knowledge in multiple dimensions. There should be research on ways that people learn by using smart solutions, which previously had been unexplored as digital. People learn differently and increase their knowledge not only by a social constructivist way of learning, but also the wide range use of smart devices. Use of different smart solutions change the role of teachers and the educational environments, and brings new questions to educational science as the traditional role of the educator as a person who organizes the learning process has diminished. Researchers of the educational field start to use the term “smart education” for this phenomenon to acknowledge that there is new movement in educational science; and that new educational approaches and a new research methodology must be built to ensure development of a new generation for urban society. Simply put, more and more educators and students are looking for new ways to use technological innovations in the teaching and learning process.

ISSN: 2155-5605
Published Semi-Annually. Est. 2011.
The International Journal of Technology and Educational Marketing (IJTEM) presents, analyzes, shares, and collaborates ideas, experiences, research studies, and cases on the advancements and innovations in technology and educational marketing. Targeting educational planners, administrators, researchers, educational technologists, educational specialists, and marketing educators, IJTEM uses technology and marketing management for sustainable educational development. In addition to full-length research papers, this journal publishes insightful books reviews, case studies on educational institutions and their marketing initiatives across the globe, and technological initiatives taken by institutions for marketing their educational programs.

ISSN: 2572-4878
Published Semi-Annually. Est. 2018.
The International Journal of Teacher Education and Professional Development (IJTEPD) invites quantitative and qualitative research and interdisciplinary studies in education, especially in teacher preparation, to include areas of assessment, technology, diversity, and cultural competency. By establishing an academic open discourse on this growing and vital profession, this journal provides a venue for educators, education professionals, and researchers to share emerging topics, issues, findings, and results concerning education and teacher preparation. Articles, reviews, and research projects included in the journal provide insights to the understanding of teaching and learning, and add new knowledge to enrich continued discussion on teaching as a profession.

ISSN: 1947-8518
Published Semi-Annually. Est. 2010.
The International Journal of Virtual and Personal Learning Environments (IJVPLE) provides readers with comprehensive coverage of developments in learning technologies for an international readership of educators, technologists, and trainers. The journal is a primary source for academics, professionals, corporate trainers, and policy makers in information and communication technologies. The journal publishes high quality contributions (papers, book reviews) on a range of fields associated with Course Management Systems (CMS), Learning Management Systems (LMS), Virtual Learning Environments (VLE), Social Networking Sites (SNS), Personalized Learning Environments (PLE), and 3D virtual worlds, including for example Second Life (SL). Articles published in the journal cover education and training, concentrating on the theory, application, and development of learning technologies. There is a particular interest in the application of new and emerging information and communication technologies in education and training.

ISSN: 1548-1093
Published Quarterly. Est. 2006.
The proliferation of Web-based technologies during the last decade may have given the impression of wide-spread changes in educational practices. In fact, we have only begun to scratch the surface of experiencing the vast impact these technologies could have on education. Viewed separately, Web-based technologies offer exciting possibilities for expanding the capacity to provide access to instruction and knowledge world-wide. However, and perhaps more importantly, viewing these technological advancements in a more dynamic context, forces educators and researchers to rethink the fundamental processes of teaching and learning. It's not just a simple matter of using a technical tool to supply time and place ubiquity but to accept the challenge of understanding the implications for the entire educational spectrum. Web-based teaching and learning begs the question of what exactly these technologies means for learners, teachers, program designers, academic experts, technical and administrative staff, institutional decision makers, training managers, publishers, and others. Although a considerable amount of exploration has been conducted regarding web-based learning technologies, the breadth and scope for dialogue and experimentation needs to be broadened. The International Journal of Web-Based Learning and Teaching Technologies (IJWLTT) provides a place for the dialogue and support of a diverse community interested in taking the challenge further.