Environmental Science and Technologies: Related Topics

Describes a number of methods and tools for image interpretation and analysis, which enables observation, modelling, and understanding of environmental targets.

A valuable reference source of the latest scholarly research on the implementation of green processes into software systems, contributing novel principles, methodologies, and tools to improve software development.

Highlights several important water-related issues and explores a number of potential solutions to the problem of water sustainability. Focusing on research-based perspectives on water availability, industrial and agricultural pollution, water contamination, and their impacts on the human population as well as the environment.

Investigates the development of highly efficient energy storage equipment and of operation optimization technology of compound energy systems.

Highlights emerging research in the areas of sustainable energy management and transmission technologies. Featuring technological advancements in green technology, energy harvesting, sustainability, networking, and autonomic computing, as well as bio-inspired algorithms and solutions utilized in energy management.

A collection of knowledge on the latest advancements and research of geographic information systems. This book aims to be useful for academics and practitioners involved in geographical data.

Exemplifies the usage of geographic information science and technology (GIS&T) to explore and resolve geographical issues from various application domains within the social and/or physical sciences.

Includes chapters that highlight the use of geospatial technologies to explore applied geographic issues and problems; studies from economic geography, urban geography, population geography, medical geography, political geography, geography of education, geography of crime, and transportation geography are considered.

Aims to escalate the current scope of research to support the development of semantically interoperable systems of geographic space. This reference will aid university lecturers and professors, students, researchers, developers of spatial applications.

Discusses the complete range of contemporary research topics such as computer modeling, geometry, geoprocessing, and geographic information systems. This expansive reference work covers the complete range of geoinformatics related issues, trends, theories, technologies, and applications.

Integrates traditional map librarianship and contemporary issues in digital librarianship within a framework of a global embedded information infrastructure, addressing technical, legal, and institutional factors such as collection development, reference and research services, and cataloging/metadata, as well as issues in accessibility and standards.

Presents innovative spatial information systems that have been developed for a specific problem or decision-making situation and discusses key concepts and theories underlying current spatial information systems, as well as technology trends and emerging concepts that may impact spatial information system development and applications.

Identifies unifying concepts in the field and presents them in a single volume, providing a comprehensive treatment of collaborative GIS focusing on system design, group spatial planning and mapping, Internet and wireless applications, and more.

Examines emergent research on smart innovations within built urban environments. Featuring best practices and theoretical frameworks, as well as potential issues in the implementation of smart and green technology in urban settings.

Brings together the necessary research and interdisciplinary discussion to address dilemmas created by population growth and the expansion of urban environments.

Explores some of the most recent developments in sustainability, delving into topics beyond environmental science to cover issues of sustainable economic, political, and social development.

Examines theoretical frameworks and empirical research in the maritime industry, evaluating new technologies, methodologies, and practices against a backdrop of sustainability.

A collection of case studies on the concepts and theories of successful sustainable practices. It also identifies key mechanisms and strategies that have allowed the successful diffusion of these practices into communities, regions and nations around the world.

Provides coverage on strategic green issues and practices for competitive advantages and cost-cutting in modern organizations and business sectors in order to reach environmental goals.

A comprehensive collection of research on the emerging trends and advances in the global use of information and communication technology in agriculture and rural development.

Focuses on information technology using sustainable green computing to reduce energy and resources used.

Covers a great variety of topics such as materials, environment, electronics, and computing. This title is a vital source of information detailing the latest architectures, frameworks, methodologies, and research on energy-aware systems and networking for sustainable initiatives.

Establishes a new set of platforms for intellectual discourse and identification of critical and strategic emerging issues, the formulation of cogent and useful policies, and practice recommendations.

Pushes through the boundaries of current research to introduce the concept of an energy management information system, exploring the role of energy for sustainable development.

Addresses the ecological, technological, and social challenges faced in the smart urban planning and design of settlements when using eco-technologies – from sustainable land use to transportation, and from green areas to municipal applications – with a focus on resilience.

Provides an interdisciplinary look at the possible relationships which exist between energy and the environment. Relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest empirical research findings on the impacts of regulation policies, market-facilitation policies, and communication models and policies are reviewed with the aim of improving understanding and strategy.

Presents processing methods and their applications, which are practical for decision making and task management at the regional level as well as for scientific studies in sustainable development assessment.

Addresses the continuing need for companies to take a holistic and strategic approach towards material and energy efficiency, emission and waste reduction, recycling, stakeholder engagement, and legal compliance.

Considers the role of urban, regional and infrastructure planning in achieving sustainable urban and infrastructure development, providing insights into overcoming the consequences of unsustainable development.

Bridges the gap in the current literature by addressing the overall problems present in society's major infrastructures, and the technologies that may be applied to overcome these problems. It focuses on ways in which energy intensive but ‘invisible’ (to the general public) facilities can become green or greener.

Provides a survey on approaches to information systems supporting sustainable development in the private or public sector. It also documents and encourages the first steps of environmental information processing towards this more comprehensive goal.