Knowledge Management: e-Books

Focuses on information as an essential element of organizational design and emphasizes the strategic role of knowledge transfer and management in organizations across industries.

Brings together industry experts to discuss the realities of knowledge management work in organizations. Examines the challenges associated with operational knowledge management.

Provides actionable principles of Knowledge Flow Theory to identify and solve problems for implementing these principles into practice.

Brings together valuable research on the adoption of a systems approach to the theory and practice of managing information and people in knowledge intensive activities and processes.

Examines state-of-the-art research in decision sciences and business intelligence, and the applications of knowledge-based business with information systems.

Discusses theory and practice in the design of knowledge management systems, facilitation of knowledge sharing, and creation of practices that encourage organizational learning.

Presents new technologies, approaches, issues, solutions, and cases that can help an organization implement a knowledge management (KM) initiative or provide a knowledge base for the practitioner/academic researcher.

Highlights the importance of intangible resources in business management, the need for a strategic analysis that enables them to be identified and assessed, and solutions to these challenges.

Outlines different tools and technologies that can be applied depending on the type of innovation an organization desires. It provides concrete advice on the different types of innovation, situations in which innovation may be useful and the role of knowledge and different tools and technologies to support it.

Seeks to understand the social, organizational, and cultural implementation aspects of knowledge management in the context of developing economies, and to discuss issues, challenges, and trends surrounding this implementation.

Covers all aspects of this critical discipline, which range from knowledge identification and representation, to the impact of Knowledge Management Systems on organizational culture, to the significant integration and cost issues being faced by Human Resources, MIS/IT, and production departments.

Depicts new technologies, approaches, issues, solutions, and cases that can help an organization implement a knowledge management initiative or provide a knowledge base for the practitioner/academic researcher.

Gathers contributions of scholars from multi-disciplinary fields to illustrate, compare, and discuss models, perspectives, and approaches involved in the distribution, administration, and transmission of knowledge across organizations.

Provides relevant theoretical frameworks, latest empirical research findings, and practitioners' best practices in the area of organizational memory.

Book captures an in-depth knowledge base for academia and industry on the most current and useful concepts, applications, and processes relevant to the successful management of knowledge assets.

Provides managers and academicians with a comprehensive review of innovations and trends in virtual organizations. Covering topics such as knowledge creation and management, virtual customer networks, e-commerce, and virtual communities.

Provides recent technologies and practices in intelligence for distributed systems while covering major aspects of the agent based systems.

Combines cutting-edge research on the cultural, technical, organizational, and human issues surrounding the creation, capture, transfer, and use of knowledge in today's organizations.

Includes chapters on implementing KM in organizations; KM systems acceptance; KM communication; knowledge representation; knowledge sharing; KM success models; knowledge ontology; and operational KM.

Connects knowledge management theory to knowledge management practice, allowing the empirical research presented to resolve challenges.

Provides a detailed synopsis on the history, origin, taxonomies, ontologies, measurement models, and dynamics of intellectual capital.

Documents the latest key issues of knowledge management.The innovative chapters in this book discuss the philosophical foundations of knowledge management.

The principles and practices presented in this book will help law enforcement professionals find ways to quickly bring vast amounts of knowledge to bear in law enforcement, but will also help prepare the next generation of police officers for a more knowledge-intensive field.

Contains practical advice for the design of appropriate technological solutions, and long range assessments of the prospects for change useful both to policy makers and those implementing institutional infrastructures.

Provides a broad basis for understanding the issues, technologies, theories, applications, opportunities, and challenges being faced by researchers and organizations today in their quest for knowledge management.

Will gain an appreciation for the role that epistemology can play in the design of the next generation of knowledge management systems: systems that focus on supporting wise decision-making processes.

Considers transformations within the context of computing science and information science, as they are essential in changing organizations.

Provides a balance of conceptual and practical aspects of Knowledge Management, offering the opportunity for students and practitioners to understand and effectively consider knowledge management approaches in their organizations.

Draws on the experience of people who have worked with CoPs in the real world and presents their combined wisdom in a form that is accessible to a wide audience.

Strives to bring the most recent research and findings on this vital topic to the forefront in order to address the existing and upcoming challenges surrounding Knowledge Management.

Presents the latest thinking in knowledge management with the design of information technology and the Internet-enabled new organization forms

Provides a multidisciplinary view of the wide range of ideas on innovative Internet information systems as they related to organizational memory and knowledge.

Introduces the idea that organizational knowledge is composed of three knowledge fields: cognitive knowledge, emotional knowledge, and spiritual knowledge.

Brings together the latest empirical research in knowledge management practices and information retrieval strategies to assist organizations in effectively and efficiently utilizing the data at their disposal.

Examines current research in support of knowledge management by focusing on how knowledge resources can be used to create and sustain competitive advantages.

Provides an opportunity for readers to clearly understand the notion of ontology engineering and the practical aspects of this approach in the domains of two interest areas: Knowledge Management Systems and Enterprise Systems.

Addresses the essential need to look at systems as a complete unit through using systems approach in the field of IT.

Provides an overview of theoretical and empirical research on knowledge management generation in the Web 2.0 age.

Presents past, present and future research directions within the field. This book includes cases on the latest advances in Information Communication Technology.

Demonstrates the philosophical underpinnings of each dimension of knowledge management, exposing the ethical and social dilemmas that occur. It also links knowledge management and organizational innovation and proposes and explores strategies to minimize such dilemmas.

Provides a valuable resource for promoting current academic discourse on innovation in knowledge-intensive organizations and contexts.

Presents key research articles focused on identifying, defining, and measuring accomplishment in knowledge management. A significant collection of the latest international findings within the field.

Provides relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest empirical research findings to improve understanding of the current innovation processes from the knowledge based perspective.

Addresses the relevance of knowledge management strategies for the advancement of organizations worldwide.

Covers the latest concepts, methodologies, techniques, tools, and perspectives essential to understanding individual time management experiences.

offers an international collection of studies on knowledge-intensive organizations with insight into organizational realities as varied as universities, consulting agencies, corporations, and high-tech start-ups.

Concentrates on strategies that exploit emerging technologies for the knowledge effectiveness in social networks. This comprehensive book delivers an excellent mix of information for readers and is a must for those thirsty for knowledge on social networks and information systems.

Addresses the Semantic Web from an operative point of view using theoretical approaches, methodologies, and software applications as innovative solutions to true knowledge management.

Provides practical guidelines for the implementation of knowledge management strategies through the discussion of specific technologies and taxonomies of knowledge management applications.

Offers an illustration of the importance of tacit knowledge to an organization, presenting a means to measure and track tacit knowledge in individuals and recommendations on firm attributes and their ideal utilization of the tacit knowledge resource.

Discusses the ubiquitous presence of databases and knowledge systems, data mining, knowledge dispersion and transfer, and a framework of how knowledge is structured and developed.

Presents a comprehensive set of investigations of a wide range of environmental factors, both internal and external, that contribute to the key challenge of complexity in KM.

Provides fundamental business and management knowledge by exploring relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest empirical research findings in the area of knowledge and knowledge management strategies and their formulation and alignment with organizations' competitive business strategies.

Combines knowledge management with other subject areas within the management information systems field. The scholarly value of this book can be found in insights generated from the contingent approach to linking knowledge management to other IT management topics and its uses.

Focuses on the essentials of knowledge management, business intelligence, and smart business systems.

Draws from the emerging knowledge-flow theory to provide stable principles to build a practice of knowledge management. It also draws from diverse, real-world experience to provide operational applications of knowledge-flow principles in practice.

A variety of KM issues are explored, including issues associated with building a KMS, organizational culture and its effect on knowledge capture, sharing, re-use, strategy, and implementation of KM initiatives and a KMS.

Presents a portfolio of concepts, methods, models, and tools supported by real life case studies from various corners of the globe providing insights into the management of knowledge in the construction industry.

Applies the knowledge-based view of the firm, which builds on the resource-based theory.

Highlights the broad range of topics that fall under the term knowledge management, thus emphasizing the large role knowledge management plays in organizations.

Aims at tying trust to knowledge management (KM). It highlights the complexity of the invisible phenomenon of trust challenged by the global economy.

Strives to explore the human resource and social dimensions of knowledge and IT management, to discuss the opportunities and major issues related to the management of people along the supply chain in Internet marketing, and to provide an understanding of how the human resource and the IT management should complement each other for improved communication and competitiveness.

A compilation of innovative and interesting theories, case studies and best practices, information and communication technologies, methodologies, methods and measures that relate to the topics of knowledge management and new organization forms such as virtual organizations.